Political Science is a social science discipline concerned with the study of the state, nation, government, politics and policies of government. The Department of Political Science is one of the oldest teaching departments of the University. It was established in 1951. Political Science, an ever blooming discipline, has a very comprehensive and expanding social scope perceived as an arts and science both in itself. In this dynamic era of ever changing political environment, this field of study encourages students to explore the basic concepts of nation states, political culture, instability, governance and foreign policy frameworks by using research techniques. The aim of introducing this course is to devote to the study of phenomenon of politics and to enable students to deal effectively with complexities present in real time situations at state level. The classes of BS (Hon) were started in 2010, It was four years degree programs introduced by the HEC.M.S programs were initiated in 2015 Ph.D. program is going to be offered very soon.

Our aim is to provide quality education in a peaceful academic environment that fosters integrity, tolerance and human values.

Vision & Mission statement

The Department of Political Science prepares students for various careers and professional degree programs in areas such as law, government, education, politics, and Policy-making. It provides students analytical and research skills those skill are necessary to understand and explain policies, government and international relations. The faculty supports the students arrange the study, to think and act as fully aware and participatory political actors, committed to social justice, political transparency and participation. Students leave the classroom with the knowledge and skills necessary to open doors to various career opportunities.

Departmental Organogram